IBN18 announces Citizen Journalist Award winners

IBN18 announces Citizen Journalist Award winners

Avantika Gaikwad
January 20th, 2011

New Delhi : IBN18 in association with IDEA Cellular today announced the winners for the 3rd edition of ‘Citizen Journalist Awards’. Citizen Journalist is a unique platform where the most credible and impactful news is unearthed by none other than the common man who brings a change in the system for a better tomorrow.

The various categories under which the iconic individuals will be honoured at this event are Fight Back, Save your City, Be the Change Fight For Her Right, Video and Photo. In a glittering ceremony held in the capital, the heart throb of millions – Abhishek Bachchan – felicitated sixteen Citizen Journalists for their courageous endeavours. The grand finale of the event will be telecast on January 26th at 7:30 pm on CNN-IBN, IBN7 & IBN-Lokmat.

The stories of each of the Citizen Journalists are truly inspirational and present a shining example of selfless struggle for the betterment of others. Following are the winners under various categories who were felicitated at the event :
• CJ Fight Back
o HS D’Lima
o Majloom
o Shiv Prakash Rai

• CJ Save Your City
o Mahendra Agarwal
o S.K Maheshwari
o S.N Singh

• CJ Be the Change
o Anita Bhargava
o Neena Chaudhary
o Vijay Lakshmi Kaushik

• CJ Fight for her Right
o 14 Girls
o Aishwarya Sharma
o Kiran Kumari
o Mitu Khurana

• CJ Video
o Prakash M Nadar

• CJ Photo
o L.V. Srinivasan
o Ritu Mehra

Citizen Journalist Awards adheres to a 2-tier selection process involving The IBN18 Editorial Board that generates a list of nominees across these six categories. The Jury comprising Justice N Santosh Hegde, Wajahat Habibullah, Shishir Joshi, Dr. Kiran Bedi and Nilam Katara selected the final list of winners.

Speaking about the initiative, Rajdeep Sardesai, Editor-in-Chief, CNN-IBN, IBN7 & IBN-Lokmat, said, “Citizen Journalist awards’ aims to acknowledge the power of the common man whose continuous fight for a better society has marked a change. With this award we would like to appeal to the citizens of our country to come forward and raise their voice against the odds.”

Speaking about the award, Ashutosh, Managing Editor, IBN7, said, “We at IBN18 salute the contributions of the undaunted common man of our society. And with this award we would like to pay gratitude to them and motivate others to come forward.”

Enumerating about the award, Nikhil Wagle, Editor, IBN-Lokmat, said “Citizen Journalist is a platform instituted to encourage the common man to fight for justice. We at IBN18 feel honored to serve the citizens through this initiative.”


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s